Sunday, December 24, 2006

Merry Christmas!

this is certainly a year of firsts. it's my first christmas away from my family. kuya, dorcas and daniel spent their christmas at dorcas' family, and this year they invited my mom. they'll be staying there upto tomorrow night, and i don't want to be held up there. so i just decided to stay home.

but jb wouldn't let me be left home alone at christmas, so here am i at the sanchez' :) hehe. just finished noche buena and gift unwrapping. im glad james liked my gift :D jb's gift to sis's and bro are the best - a personalized starbucks mug. i wish i can post a pic here, but my phone's infrared transmitter seems to be malfunctioning.. o well, that explains why 20-seven is frozen. i hope i can catch-up soon.

i can't believe it was already a year. last christmas was also very memorable (blog here). it was when my dad was very weak, and my mom and i just decided to skip noche buena. around 3am jb came with their noche buena loot :p. it really was the sweetest thing.

Wednesday, December 6, 2006

my christmas wishlist

here's my christmas wishlist --> http://wishlist.com/claclak. and i don't think i'll be getting any of those this christmas. it's either the item is too expensive, or its not available locally. kaya nga wish :p

Monday, December 4, 2006

The Five Factor Personality Test

Your Five Factor Personality Profile

Extroversion:

You have medium extroversion.
You're not the life of the party, but you do show up for the party.
Sometimes you are full of energy and open to new social experiences.
But you also need to hibernate and enjoy your "down time."

Conscientiousness:

You have high conscientiousness.
Intelligent and reliable, you tend to succeed in life.
Most things in your life are organized and planned well.
But you borderline on being a total perfectionist.

Agreeableness:

You have medium agreeableness.
You're generally a friendly and trusting person.
But you also have a healthy dose of cynicism.
You get along well with others, as long as they play fair.

Neuroticism:

You have medium neuroticism.
You're generally cool and collected, but sometimes you do panic.
Little worries or problems can consume you, draining your energy.
Your life is pretty smooth, but there's a few emotional bumps you'd like to get rid of.

Openness to experience:

Your openness to new experiences is high.
In life, you tend to be an early adopter of all new things and ideas.
You'll try almost anything interesting, and you're constantly pushing your own limits.
A great connoisseir of art and beauty, you can find the positive side of almost anything.

Thursday, November 30, 2006

kikay

its not really ka-kikay-an, its restoring my face from sun damage caused by mounteneering and ultimate. thanks to super typhoon durian, i backed out in our amci sagada climb. anyway i used the budget for the climb to fund my face fix. :) thanks to jean, here's what i got: carrot clensing foam from face shop (170ml for php 265), quick & clean oil free sun cream, also from face shop (50g for php 525), and vitamin c plus time release capsules from the body shop (28 capsules for php 1,295). according to jean, the vitamin c will help me restore the damaged skin, the sun cream to prevent futher damage, and the cleansing foam, well.. the sales lady said it has vitamin c, so bili naman ako.. hehe :)


<-- cool looking capsules huh? so here is my new ritual: am, cleanse, appy restorative day cream (freebee i got from loreal 2 months ago) and apply sun cream. pm: cleanse, tone, moisturize, and then vitamin c. well, i just hope i have the time and energy to do them religously. speaking of gastos and "pano ko nanaman babayaran ang credit card bills ko?", i wonder when would i start going to gold's gym? jb and i enrolled 3 weeks ago.. i already got billed and paid the first installment.. hayy...

Thursday, November 23, 2006

life soundtrack

was blog hopping through my friends blogs, thought it would be fun to try this too...



IF YOUR LIFE WAS A MOVIE, WHAT WOULD THE SOUNDTRACK BE?

So, here's how it works:
1. Open your library (iTunes, Winamp, Media Player, iPod, etc)
2. Put it on shuffle
3. Press play
4. For every question, type the song that's playing
5. When you go to a new question, press the next button
6. Don't lie and try to pretend your cool...just type it in man!


Opening Credits:
Sunshower - Cris Cornell
(my favorite cris cornell song..)

Waking Up:
You're a god - Vertical Horizon
(?!?!, or maybe its a spritual, giving back to God thingi)

First Day At School:
Tear in your hand - Tori Amos
(d ko talaga ma-connect)

Falling In Love:
I get around - Me first and the gimme gimmes
(hahaha.. scary)

Losing Virginity:
Dress you up - Madonna
(pa-demure?!? heheh)

Fight Song:
Give it away - Red Hot Chilli Peppers
(yeah!!!)

Breaking Up:
Sunday Morning - No Doubt
(Awwwww,, was wishing i'll get someting like Never-ever by all saints)

Prom:
What You Waiting For? - Gwen Stefani
(aggressive type? contradictory yata sa losing virginity)

Life:
Love Song(from 50 first dates) - 311
(how sweet :) )

Mental Breakdown:
Thinking of you - Joe Satiriani
(pwede...)

Driving:
Crusify - Tori Amos
(would you still teach me how to drive jb?)

Flashback:
Parallel Universe - Red Hot Chilli Peppers
(...bless your heart girl)

Getting Back Together:
Endless Love - Diana Ross and Lionel Richie
(omg.. i didn't even know i have this in my library..cheeseeeee)

Wedding:
This is my song - Carbon Leaf
(:D)

Thursday, November 16, 2006

windows movie maker

windows movie maker has been around since xp. but many xp users didn't even know they have it. last week, i checked it out and played around with it. here's the finished product. :p




my next project will be the manila spirits coverage. :D hope i can get enough decent video clip materials, and got to find more memory for my camera too..

Monday, November 6, 2006

crocs rocks!

finally, after a month of waiting, i finally got my gold prima crocs! i had to enlist and reserve a pair at rustan's coz they're selling like hot pancakes. crocs have been around but i wasn't really interested in them coz they're humongously ugly.. till if found this slim fitting slip-ons :) btw, i only saw them at rustan's.


and just today, i visited their site, found a mary jane's design. darnit, i want one! unforturnately is only available in the states. what color to buy... what color to buy.... hmmnn my initial choice was black, but the pink is sooo cute,,, hmmmnn.. i hope jace can buy a pair for me... or else i'll have to buy online... gastos!!! :D

Saturday, November 4, 2006

congrats batchmates!!!

To the new b2k6 members inducted at the summit of Mt. Binulauan, Kalinga,
CONGRATULATIONS AND WELCOME TO AMCI!
THE MAGNIFICENT TWELVE
Adonnis Enriquez 06-001
Vicky Mendoza 06-007
Enrique Sulat 06-008
Jhoana Pimentel 06-004
Cecil Morella 06-015
Mike Villaflor 06-016
Jay Ramirez 06-018
Cherry Pie Valencia 06-026
Brody Apalisok 06-028
Kim San Juan 06-034
Teejay Sakuma 06-040
Peter Wong 06-052

Tuesday, October 24, 2006

overwork overtime overload

company contest month. so many new business coming in. our users requested a full systems support. i can't really delegate all the work to my new teammates:( my shift now is from 9am to 10pm. saya. well at least im being paid overtime. and today, a holiday, im here upto 7pm. haaaaay. but when i do off hours-support, wala naman dumarating na problem :/ or maybe i should be thankful.

Monday, October 16, 2006

catching up

so much to blog, so little time. a month since my last "real" blog. gotta catch-up, so here it goes...

the mountaineer me.
a week after the "fabulous" mt. ugo climb, i joined the adidas king of the road 10km run. it was my first official marathon. i finished at around 1hr 8 minutes. yay! photoblog here.

then a week after that was our 4th (make-up) training climb at kibungan. i decided not to join the cllimb, some members advised us not to join anyway. we might get injured daw and might not pass the 15km qualifying run. anyway, it was my first mountaineering sunday break for a very long time. i played ultimate instead. :D more on this later.

then a week after that was our orienteering weekend at laiya batanggas near mt. daguldol. it was sort of a practical exam to test all the skills we learned. my groupmates were mawi, adonnis and ai. jomen backed out the last minute. there were seven stations: tent pitching, backpack loading, trail signs and trail movement, ropemanship, first aid, stove operation and climb ethics. i got lucky in tent pitching, i get to pitch a tent like j's. hehe. i did well in others, but i flunked climb ethics haha.. wasn't able to open my notes, (i blame typhoon milenyo, my notes are in my laptop) so i can't even site a single leave no trace principle.. haha.
orienteering weekend pics here.


then a week after that was our orienteering make-up and 15km qualifying run. never thought it would be a very emotional event. i finished at 1hr, 48 minutes, 7th among us 27(?) who ran that day. unfortunately, four trainees didn't made the 2hr cut.

my orienteering makeup pics here. (I ran out of batteries saturday night, sorry :( )

then a week after that was the 2nd 15km qualifying run for those who were not able to join and make the 2hr cut. j and i volunteered to help set the pace for mich. unfortunately, that sunday morning, i was struck by lbm. darnit. i have to sleep my belly ache away. even went to bed with my running shoes on. was really sorry i wasn't able to help out. ooh well..


the toda girl me.
i really wasn't been able to juggle mountaineering and disc at the same time. ussually with all the training and activities in bmc, im too tired and sore to practice ultimate. when i got a free week from bmc, since im not required to join the 4th training climb, an opportunity opened and i got to play in the habagat league :D i played for toda 2. darn i need practice.

but i guess they don't need me that much anymore, coz toda1 and toda2 placed 1st and 3rd in pool b! at last! hurrahh!!! congrats also to toda1 jo and toda2 teban for pool b's most goal catches awards.

david's leagues pics--> week1 week2 week3 and week4.
my party pics here.
david’s party pics here.

another bloggable event is the september celebrants (j, jo, soki and doie) party at sizzling stop.
david's sizzling stop scandal pics here. from my camera here.


the computer geek me.
in the past month, i attended 3 lunch despedidas. there were a lot more despedidas but i just attended 3, coz the two of them are my teammates (li-an ~ estee) and the other one is my former boss. well i can't blame them. i almost joined them actually. i thought magkakadespedida na ako sa wakas. hehehe. decided to stay nalang. i don't have "real" problems them anyway. but now with my 2 teammates gone.. darnit... muy and i are left with all the work.

im really impressed how he's coping with all the responsibility and workload passed to him. :) teej, the new comer looks like he's got a lot of potential. :) another guy is scheduled to join us next week. hah.. new set of teammates, with a set of new ambitious projects, and with the birthpains of our newly launched star application. ang saya-saya!!! end result.. no time to blog.. hahaha..


other happenings.
my ust batchmate barkara kitakits. cha made her formal announcement on her wedding on december. im a secondary sponsor, candle yata. cha why yellow motif? why?!?! hehe..
usthchika kitakits photoblog here.

j's birthday. got him a replacement battery for his “pan”... a cool looking bible... a mess kit .. and other items i grabbed on this japanesse store i recently discovered :D

james' birthday (j's nephew). got him a plaster with alphabet mold with attachable magnets. mas nagustuhan yata ni goldie yung gift ko kaysa kay james. hehehe.

daniel's 1st birhtday. He's getting cute-r everyday. visit his multiply here. :D

lastly, i now have a wireless lan in our house. powered by broadband internet. yey! ate neng talked me into getting a smart bro after our kitakits. was kinda scared at first, reading all the blogs from dissatisfied customers. but so far so good, and still keeping my fingers crossed. to share the bill, i installed a wireless router so that my bro can hook up. btw, i thought im techie enough to install the router, apparently not. thanks j for the help.

and pahabol. got myself a pair of nike air rifts. yay! tagal ko nang gusto, i procrastinated a lot. but when i saw j wear his black-green version, i fliped and got my own the next day. :D

Tuesday, October 3, 2006

template change

still a work in progress, got this cool template from this site., but im trying to make the header photo dynamic (change every reload). so far it works only in non-ie.. so please use firefox :D.

i'll also apply this template in my 27. but first i'll have to tidy-up this blog :D see you later!

Sunday, September 17, 2006

the fabulous mt. ugo climb

so much for my original novelish ugo blog :/ i've aready composed a 7 paragraph entry for day 1 only. until i lost the momentum to write day 2 and day 3. o well... ok to sum it up. it was my most beautiful climb to date. and the most emotionally, and mentally draining. yeah i cried harder than when im at malipunyo.

imagine night trekking in the freezing ugo summit. and then setting up your tent in the rain. then your cellphone had 10 miss callls, but no text message. you panic and wonder what might have happened. and then you attempt to return the call but the signal is very faint. saya. production support issue lang pala. darnit. lesson of the story,, turn of your phone! wala karin naman magagawa eh. I locked myself in our tent, i don't care about dinner. i just want to go home.


the first night, the camp was cow infested. there were cows, cows and more cows. i had little sleep. it was super cold, and my clothes are damp. and jb keeps on shouting and shoo-ing the cows. there was a time a heard a reply -- "uyy tao ako" hehehe. i heard that the cows like salt, which explains why they like to munch our trekking clothes. im amazed how fast they sniff and detect my pee. it was quite scary actually when a cow tried to lick my butt.

the next day, mejo nahimasmasan na ako. i tried to be helpful in the kitchen since i was useless the other night. after that night the trek was very pleasant, except for some ridges of course, but it was really beautiful.

the day2 socials at bajay's campsite was a riot. everybody was drunk. my gl got herself burned. (without knowing it until she woke up the following morning) and as usual, i missed all the fun, i got sleepy again too early. the day3 trek was the most pristine of them all. the hanging bridge was magnificent, (and a little scary).


still i have to psyche myself for a more-than-3-days climb thou...






my zoto gallery here.

j.,, pics ko sa camera mo,, upload mo na.. :D

Friday, September 15, 2006

so much to blog.. so little time

gotta catch up with my blogging. so many things happening.

maybe tomorrow. but darn,, i need to be back here in the office. ok, just a quick rundown on what to blog about:

- the fabulous mt. ugo climb (pics already posted btw. check them out here.)
- where has my team gone?
- should i stay here or should i join them?
- my 10km "colorum" adidas "king of the road" marathon run this sunday.

till tomorrow, (sana)... time to go home..

Saturday, September 2, 2006

jamci

was my first time to sing with a band in an event. :) my bmc batchmates just formed the band 3 days before the gig. hehe. i had to import jb (who is batch 2002 btw) for the lead guitars. other bandmates are mawi for the base, tj for the rythm, ike for percussions, and kim, also doing vocals.

i sang alanis' "hand in my pocket", kim sang cranberries' "salvation" and rolling stone's "satisfaction". my 2nd song was supposed to be nirvana's "lithium", but i chickened out. ige took over the stage sang in his running form. :)

another gig is set on the 15th. hopefully i'll get to sing a gwen song. :)



more pics here
video cliplet here and here.





Tuesday, August 29, 2006

mt. ugo na!

Mt. Ugo via Kayapa, Nueva Viscaya – Itogon, Benguet
BMC 2006 Training Climb 3
AMCI Mountaineering Club, Inc.
September 8-10, 2006


Monday, August 21, 2006

i hate malepunyo.

i took me a while to think for a title for this entry. got an idea from a fellow groupmate's blog. anyway, it was a hellish experience for me. from the time i went down to nampucha peak, and until we reached the wash area, i have decided to quit bmc.

we were nine in our group, five trainees and four members. my groupmates were cecil pops, mawi, jomen and ryan. our group leader was bossing, the amci president, assistant gl was loree, in our trail head was rico, and the last member was jb (my personal sweeper :D). i have to admit, i had the best group. they never left me. and i think im one of the luckiest trainees in that climb --- i have the president of amci and my bf as my sweepers. :)

we arrived at pse around 2:30 am. we had no sleep. crammed packing. then wala pang sausage mcMuffin sa mcdo! sa lahat naman ng araw. grrrr. anyway, we snoozed the whole bus ride to our jump-off at talisay batangas. at the start of the trek at ilog de lobo, i was at the middle of the group. but as the trail got harder i found myself slipping at the end of our group. the first major obstacle we faced was climbing tebebes creek falls where we used ropes to pull our own weight with our backpacks, on slippery and mossy rocks as footholds. but it wasn't that scary. there's a rope anyway, and rico was at the top of the wall ready pull us up. so before lunchtime, we are all soaking wet.

after the river, next hurdle was the nampucha trail. nampucha talaga. i can't beleive they call it a trail. was really glad i brought a trekking pole. but my knees got a real beating. my knee support was useless. and i thought that was hard. the nampucha down hill was 3x harder. it was there when i started to question myself.. bakit ko nga ba ginagagawa ito? bossing knew that i was having a hard time. at that point, he asked jb to transfer some of my load to him.

the trek was extra difficult for me. first, i am shorter than the average person. a simple step for average guy woule be a leap for me. at ang tatangkad ng kasama ko! i think pops and bossing is beyond 6 feet. jb is 5'11''. jomen is one of the tallest girls in our batch. and because of my existing knee condition, my knee angle range is limited. i cannot do squats. to make it worse, i misplaced my stabilized knee brace. so i just wore my nike basic support, na super luwag na. and of course, my phobia, my fear of heights and falling. first i hyperventilate, then i my legs freezes, then most of the time, i cry. i had countless episodes. and all of my groupmates witnessed it. kahiya. the trail seemed endless. despite of it all, we reached the campsite as a group at 4pm, 2hrs ahead of the i.t. . :) the last group with the sweepers arrived at 6-7pm.

was very tired when we reached the campsite. good thing bossing insisted on bringing good food. we had seafoods for apetizers (c/o bossing) - shrimp, crab sticks and smoked salmon. and for dinner, we had corn soup, sweet and sour pork and chicken curry. yum. i was so tired, i had no intention of joining the socials and participate in the presentation. buti na lang hindi natuloy yung presentation.. every move i make triggers muscle cramps. before 9pm, i locked myself inside the tent.

day2. wake up call was 430am. everybody was up fast. 5am, we were just about to start cooking, then it started to rain.. hard. but we just continued on, super basa nga lang. but im proud to say we had a decent breakfast. we had longganisa (pre-cooked), scrambled eggs, knorr chicken noodle soup and rice. (dapat talaga laging pre-cooked :) ).

we have no choice to break camp in the rain. basang basa lahat, and did i say it was freaking cold?!? i was shivering the whole time. anemia makes it hard for me to control my body temperature. and so much for bringing extra (dry) socks. around 7am, the group was good to go, but unfortunately the lead pack was still cleaning up. bossing instructed us to go to the lead packs' camp (para daw ma-pressure). on the way to their camp, i met some of my fellow trainees. some of them are just starting to cook breakfast. then i saw susan, she told me her shoes gave in, and she would have wear sandals for the rest of the trek. i felt sorry for her.

bossing really wants us to be in schedule and follow the i.t.. around 730am, with our raincoats on, we started the muddy and scary trek down the slippery slopes of malipunyo. according to rico this would be 20% mud trek and 80% river trek.

in about an hour of trekking, i found myself falling behind the group again. so its me, bossing and jb again. some of the trail are too vertical, slippery, and scary for me. bangin talaga. there was one time that bossing set up a support rope just for me. i was a little grumpy at that time. i was already thinking if i would still attend the basic life support training next week, -- so at least i'll be a certified "first-aider". the hell with mounteneering! but i havn't told anybody that i would quit bmc, even jb. i was also thinking on how much would i get in selling my backpack, and if there's anybody willing to buy my trekking shoes. or maybee i'll just keep them all and just organize our own "fun" climbs,, probably with frisbee friends.

the mud trek lasted for almost 3 hours (i think). and then i heard the sound of the river. i was relieved. at least we are getting closer to home. the river trek was a different challenge. no more ravines, buts lots of water and mossy rocks. water levels ranging from my ankles, to as high as 5 feet (siguro). on some parts of the river, my backpack just kept me afloat. most of the members like jb, jumps from rock to rock and avoid getting wet. as for me, i usually sit on rocks and slide myself down with the water.

after countless falls and shin bumps later, the exhaustion and pain is slowly eating my sanity. by that time i told jb that i will be quitting. syempre major support pa rin. he said im just saying that because of the situation.

the lead pack and 1st and 2nd groups were waiting for us in the first lagoon. "ang tagal nyo naman bossing, kanina pa kami dito". well that's primarily my fault. i've heard that there was a shortcut in that lagoon, and it only 2 hours away from our wash area. but we have 7 more hours of treking accourding to i.t.. i was already thinking of an excuse to use the shortcut. but i don’t think bossing will let me. i was unusually quiet at lunchtime. i was hungry but really i dont want to stop because that means prolonging my agony.

so we were one group again after the the first lagoon. i was behind ryan and jomen then. i was observing how they step so at least i have an idea on how deep the water is. i was able to keep pace with the rest of the group for some time, and then we let a small pack of members o.t.. then i started to pull away from my group again. i (that means with bossing and jb) was able to catch up with the them at the lagoon slide. it was a little scary, but i did it with little fuzz.

hours later we reached the backdive lagoon. while waiting in the queue, i though i would not have problems with it. i know how to swim anyway. i was hesitant to backdive because i wont be continuing bmc anyway. but sige fine, tumatagal pa lalo, so i agreed. i had a hard time positioning myself in that huge slippery rock. and when im on the ledge, i cant seem to move my feet. i started crying.. again.. kakahiya!! jb was actually doing a great job giving me moral support. so after a couple or so minutes,, nagawa ko din. the whole group cheered.

from the backdive lagoon, bossing said that we were only 1.5 hrs away from the wash area. it was around 4pm then. sakto lang before it gets dark. ayokong mag-night trek. so i gave my all. i slowly drifted away from the group again. i dragged my knees up every rock and cried the pain away, but still without stopping, i pushed on.

6pm, we're still in the !#*$#*@! river. it's getting dark. bossing instructed me and jb to get our headlamps. unfortunately, i didnt expect a night trek. i took jb's and my headlamp when we were packing earlier that morning and put in at the bottom of my pack. :( so kalkal. jb let me use his petzel headlamp coz my cheepo headlamp was very faint. thanks again j! 30 min had passed, i saw 2 headlamps in front of us. it was bajay and a fellow sweeper, bearers of good news. "hi claire!" he greeted me. "konti na lang..kaya mo yan". i smiled back. was really glad to see them but smile lang kaya kong gawin. i was wishing bajay would carry my backpack upto the wash area. haha. but i know im not really the one they’re waiting for. i felt sorry for the rest of the team behind us.

after 30 min, dry ground! but its not over yet. it was too dark. the trail was again too muddy, slippery and steep. adrenalin maybe, but i rarely bother bossing and jb for assistance :) it was around 7pm, i heard my groupmates cheering at the end of the trail. they said they were only 10 minutes ahead of me. bossing gave me a high five. ang bilis ko naman daw pala. :)

at the wash area, i felt all my bumps and bruises again. can barely walk. but was just happy that its over. we had arrozcaldo for dinner. the lead pack was there at 4pm. the last group with the sweepers came in around 11pm.



bajay's pics here.

Friday, August 18, 2006

must i always be waiting.. waiting for you?

its almost 8pm and im still here in the office.
jb!....d ko alam kung bakit gusto kong lumitpat dyan ha... :D joke lang.

in about 6 hours, i must be able to complete the following:

  • get jb's glasses at greenbelt
  • go home (i live at the other end of the metro)
  • eat dinner
  • prepare our lunch for tomorrow
  • pack my things (yare dame!) and make sure it's water proof
  • sleep (?)
  • take a shower
  • get back here at makati by 2am

here's our load:





saya.
bahala na si batman.

Wednesday, August 16, 2006

Mt. Malipunyo Itinerary

AMCI BMC 2006 – 2nd TRAINING CLIMB
MOUNTAIN – MT. MALIPUNYO

Objective of the Climb: Technical Climb
Route: Tanauan, Batangas
Nature/ Feature: Requires Technical Skills (Bouldering, Scrambling & River Trekking), Rolling Terrain & Highly Vegetated.
Training Climb Date: Aug 19-20, 2006 (2 days)

I T I N E R A R Y

Tuesday, August 15, 2006

the cost of mounteneering

if i have known before i joined amci that it would cost me around 20,000 pesos for this sport, i would have probably stuck with ultimate disc and just join pex for climbs. here's a rundown of what i have invested so far:

Gears - 1st climb
deuter act light 35+10 SL 6,000.00
pack cover 170.00
bladder with hose 2.5 liters 800.00
waterproofing 40.00
leggings 800.00
nike dri-fit trek shirt 200.00
malong 300.00
earthpad 300.00
socks 100.00
wisle / carabiners 100.00
Total 8,810.00


Gears - 2nd climb
columbia shoes (got it at 30% off) 2,600.00
treking pole 290.00
kernmantle rope 3 yards 120.00
compression bag 120.00
stuff sack 50.00
2 - 1 liter bladder @ 70 140.00
Total 3,320.00


Climbing Gear Total 12,130.00


Other fees
amci training fee 3,900.00
basic first aid 375.00
basic life support* 300.00
mt. lamot climb fee 600.00
mt. malipunyo climb fee 740.00
aquintance party 500.00
Total 6,415.00




GRAND TOTAL 18,545.00


*budgeted

...and im only halfway though the training! and this is excluding other expenses like groceries, transpo (wednesday night and sunday morning taxi fare), food and other supplies like gloves, batteries and duct tape. and at first i thought that trainings will eat my wednesdays and sundays only. but now its becoming a 3day a week thingi.

so i ask myself, was it worth it? well, makes me think what i have accomplished so far..
  • discovered makati's park and garden and makati university exist
  • rappelled ala tom cruise mission impossible style
  • learned that slacks may also mean to loosen up
  • won a couple's marshmallow eating contest
  • ran 10km in 1hr 14 min
  • learned how to read contour maps
  • learned how to fold cravats
  • transport a not-so-full-grown adult man in firemans' carry style

basic mounteering course fee , 6,415.00 pesos...
basic mounteering gear, 12,130.00 pesos...
making new friends, running 10km and still smile after, and taking photos of hoops&yoyo vaccum packed in zip locks up in the mountains... pricelesss. :)

Monday, August 14, 2006

How to Get Up Right Away When Your Alarm Goes Off

read the article here.

Beating yourself up about your bad wake-up habits will not work — in fact, you’ll just condition these mental beatings as part of the very routine you’re trying to change. Not only will you not get up when your alarm goes off, but you’ll also automatically beat yourself up about it. How lame is that? Do you really want to keep running that dumb pattern for the rest of your life? That’s exactly what will happen if you don’t condition a more empowering pattern. For good or ill, your habits will make or break you.

Think about it — if you oversleep just 30 minutes a day, that’s 180+ hours a year. And if you’re at 60 minutes a day, that’s 365 hours a year, the equivalent of nine 40-hour weeks. That’s a lot of time! Now I don’t know about you, but I can think of more creative things to do with that time than lying in bed longer
than I need to.

--Steve Pavlina

Wednesday, August 9, 2006

nampucha

i've set a new personal record today. 6.6km in 39 minutes. :P thought the buffalo wings i ate last lunch would slow me down. :D and also thought that its the mp3 player that keeps my pace. i learned that its actually the will to lose those extra pounds that keeps me blazing :D


pre-climb meeting for mt. malipunyo. im now having second thoughts on joining the climb.:/ sky, our trail master said it would take an average climber 8 hours to get there.according to the map, we will trek five peaks before we reach the campsite. yikes. and one of the mountain peak is named "nampucha". after nampucha, there’s kinabahan, naubusan. kinutuban. thou the decent will be less tiring, they said it will be very wet and even require us to back dive with our packs on and cross lagoons.



sky added that this Is the climb. too bad hoops&yoyo will not be coming with us. it would be too dangerous for them, i wont risk it. i won't be bringing my camera anyway. just hope a fellow group member will... para may evidence. :D