
i thought hindi matutuloy. kasi were not able to catch the autobus leaving 10pm thursday.. but j managed to find us a bus to tugegarao at victory liner edsa-kamias leaving at 11:30pm. we got off at solano, nueva vizcaya at around 6am friday. we found a jeep headed to lagawe, and from lagawe we will need another jeep ride to banaue proper.
the solano jeep headed to lagawe left at 6:30am. it was a breezy (and interesting) 1 hour ride to lagawe. interesting because the people there seemed different from the usual manila-nians. people there are very friendly and trusting and very accommodating. so from lagawe, we transferred to another jeep and rode for another hour to banaue.
around 9:00am we arrived at banaue. we ate breakfast at a nearby resto (travellers inn??) their tapa was ok, but im sure its not called tapa back in manila. anyway, at least j enjoyed his frech toast and omelet. after breakfast we toured the banaue area and did some pasalubong shopping. it's mother's day the that coming sunday so we got our moms something special. :)
around 1:00pm we decided to head to batad. it was a bumpy one hour trycycle ride to the junction. from juction, its a one hour uphill trek up to saddle. we were tired at that point. it was a very humid afternoon. hadto make several stops before we reach the next pitstop. we were very hungry when we reached saddle. we ate gardenia raisin bread and tuna spread for my brithday lunch. bread and tuna never tasted so good. :) from saddle, its a downhill trek to batad. we took our time, appreciating the view and taking pictures whenever we can. :)
we reached batad around 5:00pm. unfortunately, it was too dark to check the falls, the locals said it will take us another hour of walking. so we decided just to stay there and rest. we stayed at the hillside inn. the food was simple but was great... and quite expensive. pero pwede narin. :D we had some pizza omeletand tuna veggie rice. burp.
the following morning, we woke up early in hoping to catch the 9:30 jeep at saddle, we we wont have to walk all the way to junction. after breakfast -- soup, coffee and pita bread (which very much resembles a pizza without tomato sauce), we start trekking to saddle at 8am. we reached saddle around 9am, but jeep already left so we decided to trekdown to junction. we were hoping to get a jeep back to batad. at the junction, no jeep, but a tricycle was waiting. we decided to take the tricycle back to bananue. its more expensive than taking a jeep, but its half the price of what we paid getting there. and its quite rainy that day. we've heard there a storm warning back in manila.
it started raining when we arrived at banaue at 1230pm took a jeep again going to lagawe and then from lagawe, a jeep again back to solano. we had lunch (bread and tuna leftovers) inside the jeep. hehe. around 230pm we arrived at solano. had our "real" lunch at chowking. we had a hard time finding a bus going to cubao, but after almost an hour of waiting.. fnally,, a baliwag bus. after all the hassles of getting back before sunday for our games, got a text from our teammates that the games were cancelled because it was raining hard back in manila.. kainis.. grrr.
we arrrived in manila around 10pm. tired but happy. mejo nainis coz the games was cancelled, and we should have stayed in batad otherwise to visit the falls,, or maybee to sagada.. anyway, its still the funnest birhday ever. thanks again j! looking forward for out next adventure :D
No comments:
Post a Comment