Sunday, August 24, 2008

geek stuff

jb's dad arrived today from the u.s.. :) and that means our loot box is here! woohoo! it's a boxfull of stuff only geeks like us will like. here's what we got:


for the physics geek me:
- a brief history of time, by stephen hawking
- the elegant universe, by brian greene

for the tech geek jb:
- 8gb memory stick for his psp
- 320gb portable hardrive
- 500gb external hardrive

for the film geeks:
- split cam!
- films! films and more films! :)

i also ordered a customized photobook for my grandma's 100th birthday. although i don't agree on the design, my tita want "all" the pictures included. so i put it "all" there. here's the book preview.

i got carried away taking picture of the films. gives me a "high" feeling seeing so many of them. :P btw, were selling some of the fims. please see them here if you're interested





toda max!


toda1 (aka chowking toda) have finally made it to the finals! after more than 3 years, yey! thanks to lolo wendell's training.

unfortunately for me and jb, its our first league out of the core toda team. but it was also fun playing with t2, even if we didn't won a single game. i think we improved our individual skills and team chemistry. :) i usually play deep but there, i'm forced to be the handler. and i have more playing time, so it really did helped me improve my game.

toda weekends
have been spending my weekends with toda. last week, after the finals and the parties,, was zoe's 1st bday celebration. that night, we went to subic and gossiped all night with vodka at the barracks. afterwhich, we spent the day chillin' out at the anvaya cove. lovely place, but quite pricey though. we also went duty-free shopping while were there. i love long weekends. :)

this week, we where hired by a petrol company to teach ultimate for their family day. :) we got to play ultimate, had unlimited pocari, was fed lunch and got paid for our services. what a nice day! jb and i spent our not-so-hard-earned money watching star wars at greenhills after the event, (while contemplating if we should get a wii). hirap ng nagtitipid! :/

and here i am now at the sanchez' drooling over our loot box from the states. his mom and dad just got back after a month's vacation. :) jb got his credit card ripped at ebay, lomograhy and amazon last month. that deserves a separate blog entry :)

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

condo loco version 2

pros of renovating the house: more space; more control over the design; will cost a lot less, meaning we can spend extra on furnishing the house. cons: almost 3 hours lost and the stress of commuting everyday, if we brought dani, the increasing gas expense.

pros of getting a condo: near makati, less travel time hence less stress; amenities like swimming pool and jogging paths; added security. cons: a lot more costly than the other option; decreases value in the long term; smaller living space.

although a lot of "older" people that i've talked to may not choose a condo, all i can say is, they probably haven't been commuting from the north of qc to makati during rush hours. and i don't dare take the mrt during the morning rush unless i'm really desperate. i'd rather be stuck in the traffic inside the fx and be late, rather than have a quicker but hellish ride in the mrt. i get physically, mentally and spiritually challenged when i ride the mrt :p another option will be getting a house & lot here in makati, but i don't think it will be cheap either, if we ever found one.

yes, we've finally bought a condo. we actually have it reserved about 4 months ago. but we had some problems with our agent. we had that agent replaced and thankfully, the new one sounds a lot better. and now were catching up with the payments, from may to august. whew! and the belt tightening starts. no more new cameras, no more less out of town trips and gimiks, goodbye see you in two or three years iphone and wii. i'm even planning to organize a garage sale to liquidate my collectibles and other unused bags and clothes.

our future home is a 79.5 square meter condo unit with 3 bedrooms and 2 toilet and baths. it's still in preselling stage, so we got it for a relatively lower price. turnover will be on december 2010 (28 months to go and counting). although the developer said they always deliver ealier. :)

im sooo exceited,.. and scared at the same time. i can't stop looking at the floor plan and checking out the ikea catalog :) when should i submit the letter for the bathtub provision? where will i buy the big mirrors and customized cabinets so we can maximize space? i think a bar / breakfast nook will be perfect divider between the kitchen and dinning area. where will i put the washing machine? i think we need a dryer. where will i hang dry the clothes? our lomo photos in dark frame will be great accent on the corner wall. but we'll paint the wall in dark green matte finish first. will i have enough money to buy a all these on the turnover?

we can invite jc and dall to hangout at our place since were practically neighbors. i can invite joyce and my for a swim. we can even have our noche buena with our families in our new house two christmas' from now.

...but what if all these are not meant for me? what if we can't afford it? what if i loose my job, or simply have more important things to spend money on? what if things change? well, i think these "what ifs" will always be there, and as joyce said, it shouldn't stop me from going for it. but i can't stop worrying and thinking about the what ifs. but thank God it hasn't stop me from moving on and reaching out to my future.

Tuesday, August 12, 2008

lol cats

all you cat lovers
check icanhascheezbuger
you'll surely like it!

http://icanhascheezburger.com/

new project

film photo contest
use catface or vivitar?
gotta start shooting

PHOTO PROJECT: The $50 Film Camera



Wednesday, August 6, 2008

blah

i used to blog about almost everything. not just because i have time, but probably i used to be blissfully happy(or probably just ignoring my problems), and i want to share and capture what i'm feeling at that moment.

but recently, i find it so much harder to just plainly talk about what's happening in my life. i realized that i have changed a lot. the naive but logical, and the independent but insecure girl has gone. i have become a realist and a pessimistic worrier, and more insecure than ever. call it maturity or life teachings or bullshit. i guess everybody have experiences in their lives that will really transform them emotionally into adults.

but i am still happy, i just worry on the side... sometimes. i am convincing myself not to expect, but just to hope. i wish God will just magically control me so i will do what's right, so everything will turn out fine. but life doesn't work that way. i hate free will.

Tuesday, August 5, 2008

condo loco

don't wanna get hyped
it's still two years down the road
ikea 09!