Wednesday, August 13, 2008

condo loco version 2

pros of renovating the house: more space; more control over the design; will cost a lot less, meaning we can spend extra on furnishing the house. cons: almost 3 hours lost and the stress of commuting everyday, if we brought dani, the increasing gas expense.

pros of getting a condo: near makati, less travel time hence less stress; amenities like swimming pool and jogging paths; added security. cons: a lot more costly than the other option; decreases value in the long term; smaller living space.

although a lot of "older" people that i've talked to may not choose a condo, all i can say is, they probably haven't been commuting from the north of qc to makati during rush hours. and i don't dare take the mrt during the morning rush unless i'm really desperate. i'd rather be stuck in the traffic inside the fx and be late, rather than have a quicker but hellish ride in the mrt. i get physically, mentally and spiritually challenged when i ride the mrt :p another option will be getting a house & lot here in makati, but i don't think it will be cheap either, if we ever found one.

yes, we've finally bought a condo. we actually have it reserved about 4 months ago. but we had some problems with our agent. we had that agent replaced and thankfully, the new one sounds a lot better. and now were catching up with the payments, from may to august. whew! and the belt tightening starts. no more new cameras, no more less out of town trips and gimiks, goodbye see you in two or three years iphone and wii. i'm even planning to organize a garage sale to liquidate my collectibles and other unused bags and clothes.

our future home is a 79.5 square meter condo unit with 3 bedrooms and 2 toilet and baths. it's still in preselling stage, so we got it for a relatively lower price. turnover will be on december 2010 (28 months to go and counting). although the developer said they always deliver ealier. :)

im sooo exceited,.. and scared at the same time. i can't stop looking at the floor plan and checking out the ikea catalog :) when should i submit the letter for the bathtub provision? where will i buy the big mirrors and customized cabinets so we can maximize space? i think a bar / breakfast nook will be perfect divider between the kitchen and dinning area. where will i put the washing machine? i think we need a dryer. where will i hang dry the clothes? our lomo photos in dark frame will be great accent on the corner wall. but we'll paint the wall in dark green matte finish first. will i have enough money to buy a all these on the turnover?

we can invite jc and dall to hangout at our place since were practically neighbors. i can invite joyce and my for a swim. we can even have our noche buena with our families in our new house two christmas' from now.

...but what if all these are not meant for me? what if we can't afford it? what if i loose my job, or simply have more important things to spend money on? what if things change? well, i think these "what ifs" will always be there, and as joyce said, it shouldn't stop me from going for it. but i can't stop worrying and thinking about the what ifs. but thank God it hasn't stop me from moving on and reaching out to my future.

1 comment:

  1. well, whatever life has in store for us, we'll have each other to go through it all :)


    ps. yup and i really also do look forward to all the stuff we can do with our home :)

    ReplyDelete